“I lived my life for you, Lord . . . I did what I could.” Pastor Bob Jennings (pancreatic cancer)

Today I am humbly and respectfully reposting an entry from Pastor Bob Jennings, “Bob Jenning’s Journal:  I feel like Laughing and Weeping at the same time”, followed by an interview with him, “To Die in Christ is Gain.”

This is my third start in introducing today’s posting.  I think I am trying too hard and I should just let the entry speak for itself, how can I add to this man’s testimony on life and death?  Truly, words escape me . . .

From  Pastor Jennings blog:

Today’s CT scan — cyber-knife results, liver, lungs

March 7, 2012 . . .

. . . Meditation:  2Th 3:16  Now may the Lord of peace Himself continually grant you peace in every circumstance.  Peace in every circumstance!  How can it be?  The Christian knows that the Lord knows and that He is bigger.  That is, we are not victims of circumstances, but objects of His eternal love and sovereign plan.  We are “shipwrecked on God and stranded on Omnipotence.”  From the beginning of the journey we’ve been taught to say, “Your will be done.”

Doctors’ report and Oncologist

March 14, 2012

So here we are.  The kink: The panel of doctors reported Monday that the tissue that was inflamed from the radiation to the pancreas tumor has gone down enough that the kink above the stent is gone from the bile duct.  The steroid pills apparently helped shrink it.  Cyber-knife radiation on liver:  They decline to do it, saying that even if they killed the tumor in the liver, the spots on the lungs are too close behind.  The oncologist said yesterday there is not a cure for me.  Chemotherapy has only a slight chance (25 to 35%) of giving me more months, or really “weeks”, but no cure.  The tumors in the lungs and liver have “crossed a threshold” and have doubled in diameter in three months.  Another oncologist said the same thing two years ago upon diagnosis – that chemo only might give me more months.  There is some slight improvement regarding the general pain and the difficulty eating.  I am getting a little better sleep.  Very thankful.

Could God heal me?  Yes, He brought Jonah out of the belly of a large fish.  He brought Lazarus out of the tomb after four days.  But will God heal me?  I do not know.  I do ask Him, as well as so many who have lovingly borne the burden.  Is heaven all right?  Well, “to be at home with the Lord” is preferable for sure (2Cor. 5:8).  Why should the Christian want to stay here?  I suppose if I have any regrets it is that I did not do more for Christ – what a privilege to serve Him here.  The Lord Jesus obviously does not need anyone.  He can find another.  We are dispensable.  It is simply a wonderful gift to be in the service of the best of Masters.  Perhaps every Christian dies with a great sense of being “an unprofitable servant” (Luke 17:10).  The Lord Jesus was the only one who could really say that He “finished the work” (John 17:4).  He accomplished redemption.  He satisfied divine justice.  He put away sin.  He paid the sin-debt for all who openly come to Him as sinners.  I have no regrets that the Lord saved me from my sins in 1971.  All else fades into insignificance.  The world is passing away (1John 2.17).  Heaven and earth will pass away (Matthew 24:35).  God intends to kill everything.  Only those in union with Christ will rise and live again – forever.  Healing is certain!  Let every tear be dry and spread the tidings ’round.  Be all things to all men that by all means you might save some (1Cor. 9:22).  Do what you can (Mark 14:8).  The Lord commended that.”

(NOTE from Cyndi: I try to contact the blog’s author for their permission to link their blog from my blog.  I sent an email to Pastor Jennings asking for his permission but I did not hear back from him.  I hope he doesn’t mind me taking the liberty to repost today’s entry.)

When we hear the statement, “You have cancer,” we immediately think fast forward.  For many of us, death is one of our first thoughts.  How bad is it?  What is my prognosis?  Will I have what it takes to go through treatment and will I go into remission?  I am too young and I have so much more to live for.

As Christians, I believe I can say that many of us after hearing we have cancer are fearful and don’t know how to respond to this news.  But then our family and Christian community surround us and we fall backwards into the arms of Christ believing in His promise to take care of us in the midst of this horrible storm.  And, amazingly He does!  He is our buoy that holds our head above the cresting waves.  We live day by day, and for some, moment by moment.

Pastor Jennings rests in his hope, Jesus Christ.  Pastor Jennings is looking toward Jesus Christ, he is looking forward to Jesus Christ.

Heavenly Father,  please bring an assurance and a comfort to those who are in need today.  Remind us, our HOPE is in You and nothing, no, not one thing escapes Your attention.  You are ever aware, ever knowing and ever caring.  Amen.

6 comments on ““I lived my life for you, Lord . . . I did what I could.” Pastor Bob Jennings (pancreatic cancer)

  1. Carl Shiles says:

    In a time in which we live with so much disregard to God and Jesus hearing Bob preach is like medicine for the soul. I too agree there must be a burning desire to learn more, seek more, the face of God. I stumped on Bob while looking up Paul Washer and another minister I heard about. We desperately need the convicting power of the Holy Spirit to fall on our churches for SO MANY, have gone astray, Sound doctrinal teaching, preaching, is being rejected at an alarming rate. Tryuely people have an ear for tickling words.not convicting word.

  2. […] following Pastor Jenning’s writings, I am challenged to live my life fully for Christ.  (click here) Even in facing death, this man was not deterred but persevered in teaching and preaching the […]

  3. […] Pastor Bob Jennings, “Bob Jennings Journal”, writes, “I am not yet healed of the radiation burn on the duodenum.  But I have no doubt that I’d be dead if it were not for the cyber-knife which terminated the mother tumor on the pancreas.”  And he always ends his post with a meditation from scripture.  Pastor Jennings so inspired me that I wrote the following post about him, “I lived my life for you, Lord . .” […]

  4. […] Jennings blessed me in his willingness to discuss the raw experience in having terminal cancer, “I lived my life for you, Lord . . . I did what I could.” Pastor Bob Jennings”.  His most recent post he compares birth to death, “Meditation:  Ecclesiastes 7:1b  … […]

  5. Kathy Baland says:

    Thanks for bringing things into perspective with the entry of Pastor Bob. Life is unpredictable for sure and with his testimony I choose to take a step forward today…..we truely never know when it could be our last.
    Blessings to you, Cyndi!

  6. While I happen to be a believer myself, I feel the need to point out that not all who are dying of cancer (or anything else) are Christians, nor seek to be. I worked as a caregiver to dementia patients and assisted many in dying with dignity. All you really need to be with dying persons is honest (to whatever degree they want), and kind. What happens after death is not our concern when performing hospice care. There’s enough to do here alleviating unnecessary physical discomfort.

Leave a Reply

