“Destined for glory with the Lord Jesus!” Pastor Bob Jennings


One More Trip

Swelling:  The abdominal swelling is getting worse rapidly with various pains and malfunctions.  Unless God intervenes, my course will be finished soon.  It appears that the prayers of saints, so many of them, are being overridden by the prayer of the Lord Jesus – “Father, I desire that they also, whom You have given Me, be with Me where I am, so that they may see My glory which You have given Me, for You loved Me before the foundation of the world” (John 17:24).  The Great High Priest has prayed that His elect be with Him.  What can we do or say, but bow to His sovereignty, and that, gladly?  Destined for glory with the Lord Jesus!  I put my hands over my face for such marvelous, matchless, infinite grace.

Trip:  Terri and I had hoped and prayed for one more trip together, especially to see newly married James and Bethany in their ‘new’ house in San Antonio along with all the saints.  It began to appear impossible, but faith came and the next day (Wed., 29th) we were on the road, and we met with the saints at Denton, TX, that night, arriving in SA the next afternoon.  It was so special to gather with the church on the Lord’s Day.  Everything in the temple said, “Glory” (Psalm 29:9).  We arrived back Monday night, none too soon as internal bleeding had come back, but I’m so thankful to say that it was soon healed.

Casket:  Jared’s came about 3 p.m., and the boys, Jared, Zachary, and Evan, after some solemn tears together, began building the casket, and finished with some joy – O grave where is your victory?  Raymond and Jaben spray painted the handles, we swept up, the family sang Abide with Me, and we said good-bye, purposing to be on our way with work to do.  Great realities!  Without Christ, all would be very dark.  With Him, all is filled with hope – the resurrection, heaven, sinlessness, 2nd coming, the presence of Christ who so loved even me.  There will be one more trip for the Christian.

I never met Pastor Bob Jennings; I found his blog in looking for other Christian cancer blogs.  I attempted to contact him but I don’t know if I had the correct email address as he never wrote me back.  Today I take the liberty to re-post this entry, which I didn’t expect him to write; in Pastor Jenning’s previous post,  August 26, 2012, I was under the impression it would be his last – forever.

In following Pastor Jenning’s writings, I am challenged to live my life fully for Christ.  (click here) Even in facing death, this man was not deterred but persevered in teaching and preaching the gospel message.

In honor of Pastor Jennings, this scripture reflects the man of God I have come to know and respect:

“God . . . who has saved us and called us to a holy life – not because of anything we have done but because of his own purpose and grace.  This grace was given us in Christ Jesus before the beginning of time, but has now been revealed through the appearing of our Savior, Christ Jesus, who has destroyed death and has brought life and immortality to light through the gospel.
2 Timothy 1:9-10

As Pastor Bob Jennings lives his last days here on this earth it can be said of him, he fought the good fight, finished the race and kept the faith.  The crown of righteousness awaits!  To God be all glory!

Thank you, Pastor Jennings,  for letting us journey with you . . .


2 comments on ““Destined for glory with the Lord Jesus!” Pastor Bob Jennings

  1. Anne Bernardus says:

    That is a beautiful post you’ve got up here. Just like you i have been following the latest posts of mr. Jennings. (But only, i found out later about his blog.)

    You wrote “In following Pastor Jenning’s writings, I am challenged to live my life fully for Christ. ”
    Coming here, and reading the complete post, …i only think: i could not agree with you more.

    God Bless you in His ways.

    Anne,
    From Holland.

  2. […] Jennings’ last entry, “One More Trip” (click here), rocked my world and caused me to question my security in Jesus Christ; am I certain in who He says […]

Leave a Reply

