The True Meaning of Christmas

Christmas time is here
Happiness and cheer
Fun for all that children call
Their favorite time of the year

Christmas time is my favorite time of year.  An overwhelming nostalgia captures me and I find myself remembering my childhood years.  Christmas time was full of splendor and wonder; the dancing tinsel on the tree, the shiny ball ornaments, the old big bulb multicolored string of tree lights and stockings with our names on them made by loved ones.  My mom’s very thin molasses Christmas cookies with sprinkles and Christmas plays performed at school.  Such fond, vivid memories . .

Each year when I bring into our house the many boxes of Christmas decorations my mind fills with many remembrances.  I turn on Christmas music and begin to decorate the house singing along with all of the songs.  Sometimes I feel a catch in my throat as a song brings to my mind a special occasion and I can’t sing along any more.   Christmas carol’s, especially “O Holy Night”, remind me the specialness of the season and I am suspended for a moment in listening to the words that are so true.

I have a tradition I enjoy each year, I watch three Christmas specials from my childhood.  As a child I anxiously waited for the animated “Rudolph, the Red-Nosed Reindeer” and the 30 minute long cartoons of “Charlie Brown Christmas” and “The Grinch Who Stole Christmas.”  I can even remember the commercials advertising Norelco shavers during the Rudolph special . . .  It doesn’t seem that long ago.

I never want anyone to take away the childhood wonder of Christmas.  Today’s society is trying hard to twist and change the true meaning of  this holiday.  What was innocent so long ago is now “intolerant”.  This saddens me.  When I hear another story about how some people want to take the “Christ” out of Christmas I am sorry for them, and I am sorry for little kids who think that this holiday season is just that, a holiday season.

Christmas time is here.  “Snowflakes in the air, Carols everywhere; Olden times and ancient rhymes
of love and dreams to share.  Sleigh bells in the air, Beauty everywhere; Yuletide by the fireside and joyful memories there.  Christmas time is here, We’ll be drawing near; Oh, that we could always see
such spirit through the year.  Oh, that we could always see such spirit through the year…”

“Isn’t there anyone who knows what Christmas is all about?”  pleads a dismayed Charlie Brown.  And  Linus without hesitancy shares the true meaning of Christmas quoted from Luke 2:8-14, “And there were in the same country shepherds abiding in the field, keeping watch over their flock by night. And, lo, the angel of the Lord came upon them, and the glory of the Lord shone round about them: and they were sore afraid . . .”

Yes, those words bring a comfort to my soul and a stillness to my life.  “And, lo, the angel of the Lord came upon them . . .”  A season of memory, a season of tradition, a season of sharing and giving – a season of the Christ-child, the true meaning of Christmas.

3 comments on “The True Meaning of Christmas

  1. wow!!! i was actually going to post this. i love, love, love the monologue by linus!!! no secular cartoon would dare do something like this today. thank you, dr. schultz!!! thank you, cyndi, for posting!

  2. Walking purposefully toward Bethlehem this month, in search of the Child and his peace therein.

    Merry Christmas!

    ~elaine

  3. Seasonsgirl says:

    Great post I agree with you. When I was a child I had a certain feeling, did certain traditions, watched certain old good feeling shows, and knew the meaning of the season. Big busness has overwelmed us now from Halloween and sometimes even before to think it’s all about the gifts and days off…. that should be the last things on our mind… exceot the one important gift… Jesus 🙂

Leave a Reply

